Connecting Arduino Multifunction shield to FRDM KL25Z board!

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Connecting Arduino Multifunction shield to FRDM KL25Z board!

suma_success
Contributor II

I need help in configuring the seven segment display on the multi function shield with the FRDM KL25Z board. I have soldered the pins of the shield to the FRDM board .

Thank you in advance.

0 Kudos
6 Replies

mignacio
Contributor III

Hi Suma,

I have no direct experience with Arduino Multifunction LCD display.

But I have had experience in programming an NXP MKL28Z to display a custom-built LED 7 segment x 4 characters display based on TI 8560 display driver.

This does not directly answer your request but I hope it gives you an idea what you need to tackle in programming LCD modules.

Have you tried the display first with an Arduino uno or mega?   If yes, then it is a matter of "copying" the program from Arduino's IDE and adapting it to ANSI C language program in MCUXpresso.

Or else if you need to go low-level than what's programmed in the uno or mega, then you really need to go learn how to program the display driver on that LCD display board.

In low-level programming (directly sending commands to the display driver IC onboard):

Basically you need to know exactly what the display driver IC is on Arduino LCD because your NXP MCU needs to send "commands" to that display driver onboard to turn on/off segments and registers.   You need to learn those segment registers mapping and control lines.   I communicated with the custom LCD display board and its TI 8560 display driver via I2C lines.

Looks like your display is by SPI lines?   

Then you'll just need to send the commands via SPI.

Just for background info.

MI

0 Kudos

kerryzhou
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi Suma Rao