cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

HCS12 hardware interrupts

Jump to solution
elee40
Contributor I
I am looking to use hardware interrupts, but have found no examples or code.  I simply want an interrupt to occur when a button is pressed.  I am new to the HCS12 so please bear with me.  Any comments, approaches or links would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
               Erik
Labels (1)
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
Lundin
Senior Contributor IV
Generally, you don't want your interrupts to do much except setting a flag in a global variable and then exit and let main() handle what needs to be done. It is very important to set all such global variables to "volatile", otherwise the compiler might optimize them away, because it believes that the variable is only used in main(). You will get strange, random errors which are very hard to track down.

For cases where you need to execute things directly from the interrupt, a good advise is to disable the specific interrupt temporary the first thing you do, then clear the "i" bit in the CCR to allow other interrupts to occur. When you have finished your task, enable the interrupt source again.

And of course, in every isr you should clear the interrupt source in the corresponding flag register before you leave the isr.

In case of debouncing, you probably just want to save a timer value, then compare it with the value you get next time you enter the isr. The HCS12 timer port is very suitable for this, since it allows a lot of flexibility in the hardware.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
3 Replies
mke_et
Contributor IV
Interrupts are easy to use, just keep a few key things in mind.

ANYTHING you touch has to be preserved. Always keep that in mind. The other side of that is depend on NOTHING to be set up when your interrupt happens.