SCI port help - MC9S08QG8

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SCI port help - MC9S08QG8

Fraz
Contributor I
Hi im new to microcontrollers and im trying to use the SCI port on a S08QG8 its just a simple program to make sure i am transmitting data, im using the output of the micro connected to a Maxim232 chip and using hyperterminal to view the results.  Athough i cannot get any data to transmit what am i doing wrong? i suspect its something to do with the baud rate which im trying to set to 9600.  The 232 and hyperterminal setup is working fine as i have tested this with another device

my program ;

#include <hidef.h> /* for EnableInterrupts macro */
#include "derivative.h" /* include peripheral declarations */
#include "MC9S08QG8.h" /* include peripheral declarations */

void main(void){

int i;
        PTBPE = 0x00;
        PTAPE = 0x00;     
        PTBDD = 0x00;
        PTADD = 0x00;

for(;; )
{
  __RESET_WATCHDOG(); /* feeds the dog */

SCIBDH = 0;
  SCIBDL = 0x82;   /* 9600 baud */
  SCIC1 = 0x00; /* Normal mode, 8 bits,  no parity */
  SCIC2 = 0x0C; /* Enable transmitter and receiver, no interrupts */
/*********************************************************************/
/* send the character */
/*********************************************************************/

for (i=1; i<1000; i++) {       /* delay before/after sending each character */
    }

SCID = 0x41;  /* Send the letter A */
  while ((SCIS1 & 0x80) == 0);   /* Wait for TDRE */

} /* loop forever */
}

cheers

Message Edited by Fraz on 2008-01-26 02:08 PM

Added part number to subject.

Message Edited by NLFSJ on 2008-01-27 10:27 AM
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
5 Replies

erooll
Contributor II
Could you tell us, configuration your clock settings.

- are you using a external crystal, or internal clock generator?, What is the value of this?
- How do you are sure that your CPU runs at 20 MHz?

Regards
0 Kudos

Fraz
Contributor I