MC9S08 - Assembly or C - Complete novice

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MC9S08 - Assembly or C - Complete novice

jart
Contributor II

Hi. I’m planning on learning to use the S08 microcontroller. I have no experience of assembly or C. So what would you recommend for learning about embedded C and the S08? I would appreciate any links or advice.

Added part number to subject.

Message Edited by NLFSJ on 2007-06-16 07:44 PM
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
6 Replies

tonyp
Senior Contributor II
OK, you said you wanted to learn how to use the S08.  This is a different task from learning how to program (irrespective of language).

So, start with the S08 Reference Manual (HCS08RMV1.PDF or something like this.)

If you manage to go through the whole book, you will have no choice but to encounter all the available instructions and their addressing modes.

Can you program using some third language (other than C or assembly?)  If so, you already know programming, and you just need to learn a new language.  Ah, but you just did by reading the S08 Reference manual.  So, you're already closer to assembly than C.

But if you meant you do not know how to program in any language, this is a whole different game.  Start with some good beginner books on programming and a very basic language (like BASIC) to get a good grasp of the various primary programming concepts.

So, what will it be then in the end, assembly or C?  Everything else being equal (e.g., competence level),

Best reasons to use assembly:

* Absolute control of all aspects of your coding (think of it as the WYSIWYG of programming).
* Much faster overall performance of your code (i.e., more job done for the same unit of time).
* Much shorter code (i.e., smaller device and cost for the same job).

Best reasons to use C:

* Be liked by other C programmers.
* Understand and/or use their code snippets posted in their messages.

Sorry if I appear a little biased :smileyhappy: