GZ60 demo and WATCHDOG

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GZ60 demo and WATCHDOG

RChapman
Contributor I
This message contains an entire topic ported from a separate forum. The original message and all replies are in this single message. We have seeded this new forum with selected information that we expect will be of value to you as you search for answers to your questions.

Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 8:27 am    

Hi Everyone,

I'm an absolute beginner and just managed to get started my HC08-GZ60 DEMO board and CodeWarrior 3.1.

Now I am looking for some simple code for this MCU to analyse the functions and learn how to program the controller. Especially samples to send and receive information on the COM-port are very welcome.

Further I need some explanation about the code below. I found it while looking for some delay routine examples. The loop itself is no probleme, but the WATCHDOG makes me stumble.

What's the WATCHDOG for and how does it work?

void Delay(unsigned int n)
{
unsigned int stopTime = 30 * n;
while (stopTime != 0)
{

#ifdef PET_WATCHDOG
PET_WATCHDOG();
#endif

stopTime--;
}
}

INFORMATION out of the HEADER file

/* Types definition */

#ifndef __RESET_WATCHDOG_MACRO
#define __RESET_WATCHDOG_MACRO
/* Watchdog reset macro */
#ifdef _lint
#define __RESET_WATCHDOG() /* empty */
#else
#define __RESET_WATCHDOG() {asm sta COPCTL;} /* Just write a byte to feed the dog */
#endif
#endif /* __RESET_WATCHDOG_MACRO */

Ciao ciao
Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2005 2:28 pm    

I've written a simple com test routine for the mc9s08gb60 which may be helpful to you. The routine simply sends out 256 characters on the transmit pin and expects them to be looped back (somehow, up to you) to the receive pin, then confirms the validity of each received byte.
The program is written in assembly.
If you're interested contact Ron at Techsupport@gadgetwerksinc.com and I will email you the code.
Posted: Tue Nov 01, 2005 4:05 pm    

Hi,