cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Counting 50 to 200 KHz pulses with TMPn on DZ60

Francois
Contributor I

Hello,

I'm quite new with DZ60 and I need to measure the frequency of  a 50 to 200 kHz square wave signal.

My first idea was to use TPM2CH0, and to mesure the number of clock cycles between 2 rising edges

of my signal. It works but there are a lot of interrupts (at each rising edge) and it slows down significantely

my application.

My second idea is to measure the number of pulses in a 250 ms interval.

but I'm unable to configure the TPM2 timer in this way ?

For instance, I've tried to configure :

TPM2SC = 0x18;

TPM2C0SC = 0x04;

But the TPM2C0V counter doesn't increase ?

Could someone indicates me if it's possible to count automatiquely incomming pulses ?

What should I program for these 2 configuration registers ?

Thank you very much for your help

francois

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
2 Replies

ThaManJD
Contributor III

Francois,

I think you should be able to do this but it's unclear from your comments which pin your square wave is ccoming in on.

I'll assume if your were capturing edges of your square wave that your signal went in the TPM2CH0 pin.

Maybe what you need to do is insert it into the square wave into TPM2CLK pin. (or TPM1CLK)

Setting the TPM2SC to external clock (TPM2SC=0x18) directs the clock source for timer 2 to come from that pin(TPM2CLK).  Have a look at the diagram in the datasheet at the beginning on the Timer/PWM module section. It shows the optional external clock inputs coming from those pins for each of the timer modules

This also means that your accumulation duration timer has to come from one of the other timers (presumably timer module 1 which I guess whos source would be one of the internal clocks)

Then it is the TPM2CNTH and TPM2CNTL (timer module 2 counters) and not the channel timer/counter that increment on your external clock input.