cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Debug methods - IMX8QXP

jnj
Contributor III

Hi All,

I am currently working on IMX8QXP-MEK, and I have some queries regarding the debugging methods. I am a newbie to this platform. From the NXP documents, I came to know that there are mainly two methods to debug i.MX8. One is UART, and the second one is JTAG.

When the EVK is connected to the PC via USB, there are 4 UART ports visible: /dev/ttyUSB0, /dev/ttyUSB1, /dev/ttyUSB2, and /dev/ttyUSB3. Cortex A35 prints [Linux] can be seen over /dev/ttyUSB0, and M4 Cortex prints can be seen over /dev/ttyUSB2.

I am a little bit confused about which UART (among FTDIA, FTD_IB, FTDIC, FTDID ) is connected to Cortex A35 and Cortex M4 debugging.UART Connection diagram  of EVK is shown below.an JTAG be used for debugging both M4 and A35? Or can M4 only be debugged using JTAG? Kindly help me to resolve my doubts.

jnj_0-1707485150669.png

Thanks in advance !

0 Kudos
32 Replies

jnj
Contributor III

Hi @Chavira , 

Thank you for the response. Is there any Document to refer for debugging a35 cortex using debugging tool? Similarly among FTDIA, FTD_IB, FTDIC, FTDID in the schematics which Uart is connected to cortex a35 and cortex m4? 

0 Kudos

Chavira
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi @jnj!

For iMX8QXP the M and A Core have their peripherals.

In the schematic, you can see the connections between the FTDI and the iMX.

Check the Reference Manual in chapter 9 "Pin Assignment" and you can see the Peripherals for the M core and the A core.

The A core is debugged for the UART0 (Connected to FDTIA) and the M core is debugged on M40_UART0 (UART 0 for M core and connected to FTDIC), the UART3 is connected to FTDIB.

Sorry for the mistake!

Best Regards!
Chavira

0 Kudos

jnj
Contributor III

Hi @Chavira ,