MSI interrupt handler on Linux

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

masasi
Contributor II

Hi! I am new to the MSI and I cannot find how to call an interrupt handler function when a MSI transaction is received on my P1012 processor. In my code a new MSI transaction arrives to the RC, the MSIIR register is updated and that causes the MSIR7 register of the PIC to set the interrupt 0 bit. Then, how can I call my interrupt_handler function when the that interrupt arrives? I thought I should use the irq_create_mapping and request_irq Linux functions but I do not know how to link the hwirq with my interrupt. Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
6 Replies

wooosaiiii
Contributor III

Hello,

I have this setup:

( iMX6Q Linux RC ) <-----PCIe-----> (iMX6Q Bare-Metal EP)

I am able to enable and generate MSI interrupts from EP to RC.

In Linux driver for EP device I use:

pci_enable_msi(priv->pci_dev);

which allocated "one" MSI vector.

But if I try to use:

ret = pci_enable_msi_range(priv->pci_dev, 1, 32);

I always get return value = 1 which actually means I get only one vector even though I request 32.

Does kernel actually support multiple vectors on iMX6 platform?

If it does how to enable them...? Any examples would be welcome...

Thanks

Primoz

0 Kudos

yipingwang
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hello masasi,

Please use the function pci_enable_msi to set up the MSI capability for the device.

int pci_enable_msi(struct pci_dev *dev)

A successful call allocates ONE interrupt to the device, regardless of how many MSIs the device supports.  The device is switched from pin-based interrupt mode to MSI mode.  The dev->irq number is changed to a new number which represents the message signaled interrupt; consequently, this function should be called before the driver calls request_irq(), because an MSI is delivered via a vector that is different from the vector of a pin-based interrupt.