Why mailboxes and message buffers are used interchangeably in examples and functions.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why mailboxes and message buffers are used interchangeably in examples and functions.

Sang-Hoon_Ahn
Contributor I

hello
I am currently trying to implement CANFD communication using MPC5748G.

I am studying based on the basic examples provided with the S32 SDK.

I have a question here
First, in the example, there is a define statement that sets the number of mailboxes.

#define TX_MAILBOX (1UL)
#define RX_MAILBOX (0UL)

However, the FLEXCAN_DRV_Receive and FLEXCAN_DRV_Send functions used in the example all receive mb_idx as an input parameter, and mb_idx is described as 'Index of the message buffer' in the SDK help documentation.

In fact, TX_MAILBOX or RX_MAILBOX defined in the mb_idx parameter in the FLEXCAN_DRV function group is entered.

In the function descriptions and examples of the SDK, mailbox and message buffer are described as the same.

Therefore, defined in MPC5748G_features.h
#define FEATURE_CAN_MAX_MB_NUM (96U)
348 /* @brief Array of maximum number of Message Buffers supported for payload size 8 for all the CAN instances */

If interpreted as a syntax, RX_MAILBOX and TX_MAILBOX declared in the example seem to be possible up to 96.

Is my understanding correct?

And according to lines 322~348 of MPC5748G_features.h
FEATURE_CAN_MX_MB_NUM is declared per channel for the maximum number of channels of MPC5748G, which is 8 channels.
(FEATURE_CAN0_MX_MB_NUM, FEATURE_CAN1_MX_MB_NUM, FEATURE_CAN2_MX_MB_NUM...)

For example if I use 2 CAN FD channels

#define TX_CH1_MAILBOX (1UL)
#define RX_CH1_MAILBOX (0UL)
#define TX_CH2_MAILBOX (1UL)
#define RX_CH2_MAILBOX (0UL)

Doesn't it matter if the values of TX_CH1_MAILBOX and TX_CH2_MAILBOX are the same?

In the case of MPC5748G, up to 96 message buffers can be set for each channel, and each buffer is operated independently.