Losing 2 links in paths and symbols following a failed build

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Losing 2 links in paths and symbols following a failed build

gerrikoio
Contributor III

As I'm new to MCUXpresso, I found this compiler behaviour rather disconcerting so thought to throw it to the community for reassurance.

I have been using a FRDM-KW41Z board and have not tested to see if this applies to other boards.

I noticed these two links are always included (in paths and symbols within includes in C/C++ general properties) in new projects or if I import an SDK project.

pastedImage_1.png

I was porting code from another project and editing this code in a new project and kept noticing that these two links disappeared after a while and could not fathom why.

So I carefully reconstructed and discovered that these two links disappear from my project as soon as I run a build and it fails.

So I am wondering if this normal behaviour?

Labels (1)
8 Replies

gerrikoio
Contributor III

I thought to change my earlier choice of a Correct Answer, as whilst it did solve a particular case, and is the correct way to manually add new includes into a project,  it actually did not solve the problem related to those two missing links as I found another scenario that is related.

This case is rather strange and it took a good while to figure out.

If I create a new project with say an FRDM-KL25Z board or others and then create a new project with an FRDM-KW41Z board then all includes for all project are resolved and everything links ok.

If I then exit from MCUXpresso and then reopen the IDE and go to say my new FRDM-KW41Z project or any of the other projects I had created) it shows the following (links are now missing):

pastedImage_1.png

To confirm this, I can then choose Project... C/C++ Index... Search for Unresolved Includes, and this menu option will then pick up <stdio.h> for you.

This occurs for both c and c++ projects.

0 Kudos