cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Malloc not working in a task

Jump to solution
joebirch
Contributor III

I'm new to KDS, KSDK and PEx and am trying to get some basics working.

The problem is that malloc always returns 0 when called from a task.

malloc returns a valid address when called from main.

I am using KDS 3.0, KSDK 1.2 on a FRDM_K22, gcc

all defaults except:

• OS is freeRTOS (with default memory sceme -   configFRTOS_MEMORY_SCHEME==3)
  • 1 task
  • fsl_debug_console
  • set heap to 0x0400

I appreciate the help

Joe

Labels (1)
Tags (2)
1 Solution
BlackNight
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi Joe,

I recommend that you have a look at this article: FreeRTOS, malloc() and SP check with GNU Tools | MCU on Eclipse

The problem you are facing is that the GNU malloc() routine has a safety check against the stack pointer.

It checks that the current SP is not inside the heap. However, for FreeRTOS tasks using malloc/memory scheme 3, this is the case :-(

What I do is to use my own _sbrk() routine (see above post). Just keep in mind that with the GNU ARM Embedded in KDS v3.0.0 the name has to be _sbrk() (and not sbrk() as in other versions of the library).

The other comment I have: a heap of 0x400 (1 KByte) sounds very small to me. Keep in mind that all the task stacks/semaphores/etc have to fit in there. That's enough for the IDLE task (assuming a default stack size of 200), but will likely fail for additional tasks. Or in other words: the heap size you allocate in FreeRTOS_Config.h will not taken into account for the heap size used by malloc.

I hope this helps,

Erich

View solution in original post

4 Replies
BlackNight
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi Joe,

I recommend that you have a look at this article: FreeRTOS, malloc() and SP check with GNU Tools | MCU on Eclipse

The problem you are facing is that the GNU malloc() routine has a safety check against the stack pointer.