Debug connector on FRDM board going bad. Any suggestions?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Debug connector on FRDM board going bad. Any suggestions?

Jump to solution
injunear1
Contributor IV

Hello,

I have been using one of my FRDM boards exclusively for about three months now. I can't even guess how many times I have plugged and unplugged the debug USB connector; hundreds, if not a couple of thousands, of times. The connector has recently become intermittent.

Has this been an issue with anyone else?

I was not able to find any information about a warranty on the Freescale website. Is there one? Would it cover a worn out USB connector?

Are there any quick fixes to keep the connector, and thus the board, usable a while longer? For instance, can one cut through the plastic cover and bend the leaf spring that holds the plug in place, or is the problem likely something else?

Being a development board, one would expect the debug port to be used countless times. What is the life expectancy of the connector?

Even if the board is soon to become trash, I have three more with which I can continue developing. At $13 a board, I really can't complain if the connector can only be used 2-3000 times.

I am not expecting 5 star repair service. I am just asking what the options are, and what the life expectancy of the connector is.

Thank you.

0 Kudos
1 Solution
apanecatl
Senior Contributor II

Hi Injun, to apply for a warranty you need to contact the distributor you got the boards from or you can fill out the following online warranty/return form:

http://www.freescale.com/webapp/sps/site/overview.jsp?code=WTB_DTD_WARRANTY

According to the manufacturers information the connector can stand up to 5,000 assembly cycles.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
2 Replies
apanecatl
Senior Contributor II