Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

wrong return JSR vs. CALL

Jump to solution
goelectrons
Contributor I

Hey all,

I have a program that I have been developing for 6 months or so and suddenly, while debugging, the program counter ends up off in never-never land. On closer inspection I see that a function is being called with JSR ( in the same page so this is ok) but the assembly being generated tries to return using RTC instead of RTS.

I have looked for this issue on the forum and learned that I should make sure my function prototype is correct with no implicit parameter declarations. Check. The other possible explanation did not make any sense to me, it was something about there being two returns in the same subroutine?

Help would be appreciated.

-shawn 

Labels (1)
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
CompilerGuru
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Things to check:

- the c file containing the function definition should include the header file containing the declaration, otherwise the compiler cannot verify the compatibility of the signatures.

- check also for warnings regarding inconsistent segment qualifiers.

- How is the function declared? How is it defined? Which memory model?

- out of stack? Enough stack space?
- any local buffers overwritten?

- is the SP at function entry the same as the SP when the RTC is executed?

- is the callee/caller or any code used written in assembly (including inline assembly)?

- what is the expected calling convention, far or near? Is the caller's JSR or the callee's RTC incorrect?