Need help with DMA and UART in new project

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help with DMA and UART in new project

WilliamW
Contributor III

I am new to MCUXpresso and am trying to build a project using the config tools.  When I try to use a UART peripheral with DMA I get errors in the peripheral editor for the UART that says that I don't have the DMA component selected in my project.  I don't have a "dma" component listed in the Drivers when Managing SDK compoents for the project.  So I selected "dmamux" and "edma". I also verified that it was and that fsl_dmamux.h contained the functions that the linker couldn't find at link time when I built the project.  I am using the Installed SDK SDK_2.x_MK64FX512xxx12 that was provided with the install.  Is there something else that I need to do to make this work?

2 Replies

Omar_Anguiano
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hello William Wolthuis

Regarding the SDK I suggest to download the latest version, you can do it from here: Welcome | MCUXpresso SDK Builder 

For the errors displayed on the tool, you can find quick solutions by right-clicking the error.

pastedImage_4.png

In order to add a not included driver in the project, right-click the project and go to SDK management->Manage SDK components. At that window, you may be able to add the edma driver for your project.

pastedImage_8.png

For detailed information about this tool, I suggest you take a look at the user guide: https://www.nxp.com/docs/en/user-guide/GSMCUXCTUG.pdf 

Please let me know if this is helpful, if you have more questions do not hesitate to ask me

Best regards,

Omar

WilliamW
Contributor III