cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ethernet working on core m4

Jump to solution
panezion
Contributor II

hi, I'm pretty new in embedded world. I've got a evk board on my hand with a cpu of type "imx8m". I've checked out all the files in mcuexpresso version  2.7 and found no files named like "fsl_fec" "fsl_enet" or any examples implement phy in cm4 world. 

my question is "is it possible for phy working on m4 core" if so, is there any brief tutorial I can follow 

best regards 

pan 

1 Solution
kunalkotecha1
Senior Contributor II

Hi panezion@gmail.com,

Referring to the R.M, we can see that most peripherals are shared among both the core A7 and M4. RDC will be the one managing the access of peripherals between both the cores.

Yes, it is possible to use Ethernet on M4 core.However, the current SDK does not have support for Ethernet driver.

Regards,

Kunal

View solution in original post

8 Replies
kunalkotecha1
Senior Contributor II

Hi panezion@gmail.com,

Referring to the R.M, we can see that most peripherals are shared among both the core A7 and M4. RDC will be the one managing the access of peripherals between both the cores.

Yes, it is possible to use Ethernet on M4 core.However, the current SDK does not have support for Ethernet driver.

Regards,

Kunal

panezion
Contributor II

I’ve finished the development of Ethernet driver and build an ETHERCAT stack over it. It just worked well. Thank you again for your help

stefanogurrieri
Contributor II

Hello,

could you please add a bit of information or some kind of note here, that could be helpful to anyone going through this kind of use case?

We need the same thing, ethercat over ethernet on M4 core. Not necessary on A53.

Thanks in advance!

Stefano

0 Kudos
kunalkotecha1
Senior Contributor II

Hi panezion@gmail.com,