Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

GPIO manipulation

eman_koosha
Contributor II

HI 

i am a newbie to NXP micros 

i am using the LPC54xx

i want to output data on a set of pins. i will address each pin on its own becuase they are spread around

i am finding it very difficult to understand how GPIOs are manipulated.

i am setting them as output on the pin configuration tools and its being initialized by the generated code.

i want to start putting 1s and 0s on the pins

Are the below the correct functions to use:

1. GPIO_PortClear ( , , ) to put 0 on the port

for the pin i am using named enbale "E"

GPIO_PortClear (E_PIN_GPIO,E_PIN_PORT,1<< E_PIN_PIN);

2. GPIO_PortSet( , , ) to put 1 on the port

for the pin i am usinf named enbale "E"

GPIO_PortSet (E_PIN_GPIO,E_PIN_PORT,1<< E_PIN_PIN);

3. GPIO_PortMaskedSet( , , ) to write "0" or "1" 

GPIO_PortMaskedSet (E_PIN_GPIO,E_PIN_PORT,1<<(val&(1<<7))!=0);

please let me know if i am on the right track

Thanks

Eman

9 Replies

Sabina_Bruce
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hello Eman,

You have the right idea of how to write zeroes and ones to the pins. Though you have to consider some other factors as well.

Firstly make sure that you have initialized the clock of the port you will be using. 

You also should initialize the port and specific pin incase you use different pins as either inputs or outputs

Once this is done you may be able to write one or zero to that pin.

Can you confirm if you are using MCUXpresso and the complete part number of your LPC54. This way I can provide the correct examples you can try with your microcontroller.

Best Regards,

Sabina

eman_koosha
Contributor II

Hi Sabina

thanks for your reply

i am using  LPC54618J512BD208 and MCUXpresso