cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Evaluation board for High current/ power BLDC motor control

vipin_mohan
Contributor I

HI all,

Selecting the right Evaluation Board is important in the pre-development stage. Unfortunately, I am new to the Motor Driver and controller area. My plan is to develop a motor controller for a BLDC motor (48V, 5KW) for Automotive Application. Since the output current is very high, I am not finding the exact Eva. Board. But I am sure that, working on an Eva. Board with low power output can be used to my High Power application (Correct me if I am wrong!). Can someone suggest me the an Evaluation board for my application?  (The requirement for my actual project is as given below)

Input : 40V- 48V
Motor : 5KW BLDC motor/ 3phase PMSM (4 quadrant operation) 
Load : 130A max
Feedback sensor : Hall sensors, Current sensors, Temperature sensor
Control : Vector control or Sensorless FOC 

Operating Frequency / PWM frequency : No Information
ROM / RAM /Flash requirement : No Information
Communication : LIN or CAN
Number of ADC channels : No information

From readings, I was informed that ARM Cortex M4 would be a good choice as Microcontroller. 

Any further information can be provided. (This is my first post in this community)

Thanks in advance. 

Kinetis Motor SuiteKinetis MicrocontrollersAutomotive MCUs / MPUs and Tools Kinetis Software Development Kit‌ CodeWarrior Development Tools Kinetis Design Studio Motor Control and Smart Energy 

Labels (1)
4 Replies

xiangjun_rong
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi, Vipin,

Because you use the BLDC in Automotive application, so the processor should meet the auto standard. I suggest you use Auto level processor for example S32K, MPC56xx, Kinetis KEA family, S12

S32K BLDC solution:

S32K144 3-phase BLDC Development Kit|NXP 

MPC56xx BLDC solution:

3-phase Sensorless BLDC Development Kit|NXP