cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

UART interrupt timing and overflow error S32k148_176EVB

andrew_thornbor
Contributor II

Hello,

To start, this is my first time using the s32 product line and it seems to be going pretty well!

Currently, I am running a small uart test using the lpuart SDK that is provided.

I am working with the S32K148_176EVB Eval Board and my goal is to read a UART signal generated by another uart peripheral from the same chip. 

The reason for this is to test the functionality of the and reliability of the UART protocol. 

Currently what I am doing is sending a set of 4 bytes. via one uart (lpuart1) and then reading  4 bytes (lpuart0)  via the SDK. 

The general flow initiates the read for 4 bytes via an SDK (LPUART_DRV_ReceiveData) and then send 4 bytes via the SDK (LPUART_DRV_SendData) finally it waits until the Receiving uart has all 4 bytes (lpuart0).

I currently have a setup where it works great at low speeds. However, when I ramp up the baud rate some weird things begin to happen.

My suspicion is with the interrupt timing but I am not 100% sure. The errors start to happen at the 1mbps. It also does not error out when sending 1 byte at a time compared to 4 at high speeds. Again I have a feeling the interrupts are at play here. 

Finally, when I looked in I saw the order of operations with the interrupts is as follows.

Send a byte1 from uart1 to uart0     UART1_TX ->UART0_RX

Send a byte2 from uart1 to uart0     UART1_TX ->UART0_RX

Send a byte3 from uart1 to uart0     UART1_TX ->UART0_RX

Send a byte4 from uart1 to uart0     UART1_TX ->UART0_RX 

Receive a byte1 from uart0 to uart1 UART0_RX <- UART1_TX 

Overrun error from uart0               UART0_RX  error

The order of operation I expected to be 

Send a byte1 from uart1 to uart0

Receive a byte1 from uart0 to uart1

Send a byte2 from uart1 to uart0

Receive a byte2 from uart0 to uart1

Send a byte3 from uart1 to uart0