How to debug a project that doesn't get to main()?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to debug a project that doesn't get to main()?

shareefjalloq
Contributor II

Hi,

I'm new to MCUXpresso and feel like I must be doing something wrong.  I can program an LPCXpresso 812 board with the blinky LPCOpen project, but when I try to do something similar for a custom board I'm using I'm getting nowhere.

My board has the LPC812M101JDH16 and has a 10-pin SWD header and some GPIO.  It will run from the IRC oscillator.  I'm going through the LPCOpen project flow creating a new 'MCUXpresso IDE' project, picking the 812 and using the LPCOpen libraries I've imported into the workspace.

The default main() that is built with the project just enters an infinite loop.  If I try to launch the debugger, the MCU is programmed and starts executing but if I pause it I see that its suspended at 0x1fff_00c4.  If I add breakpoints inside Chip_SystemInit() or main() they don't fire.  Not sure where to start from here?

Thanks.

0 Kudos
12 Replies

shareefjalloq
Contributor II

So I've now populated a second PCB with no connections on the ISP pin, PIO0_12.  I've checked this pin and it's sat at 3V3.  There's nothing on this board but the debug header, a 3V3 regulator and the TSSOP16 LPC812.  And I still can't even download a blinky example.  What have I forgotten or missed in the datasheet?

This is the output from the debugger...

MCUXpresso IDE RedlinkMulti Driver v10.2 (Jul 25 2018 11:29:34 - crt_emu_cm_redlink build 555)

Reconnected to existing link server

Connecting to probe 1 core 0:0 (using server started externally) gave 'OK'

Probe Firmware: LPC-Link Probe v1.3 (NXP - LPC-Link)

Serial Number:  WIN64HS12

VID:PID:  1FC9:0009

USB Path:

Using memory from core 0:0 after searching for a good core

Expecting vector catch on SYSRESETREQ signal

debug interface type      = Cortex-M0+ (DAP DP ID 0BC11477) over SWD TAP 0