I2C Tools and Work Flow

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I2C Tools and Work Flow

daniel_harthan
Contributor I

I am working with a LPCXpresso 1115 /303. I have never used I2C before, so I really do not know the basic work flow to set up communications. Yes I have read All Board I2C tools, but I do not know how to find or enable it in LPCXpresso IDE v8.2.2_650. No idea what tools do what or even what is relevant to what I am trying to do. 

I want to control servos using the aidafruit 16 channel servo controller, it has a default address of 0x40. All of the examples for the controller are using arduino, so not much help. I do not know the number of write bits, or how to address a specific servo channel on the board. I have gone through the manual and have been working with the I2C_main example to try and get to work. At this point I am just shooting in the dark, and I cant even figure out where to input the address of the slave device. 

I am not sure where to start with this project, so any help (especially on the best use of the IDE) would be greatly appreciated. 

The last thing that I cannot figure out is what value I am supposed to send to the servo controller. Do I send a desired degree? PWM duty cycle? Pulse width value? No idea what data I need to send to get the driver to work. 

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
2 Replies

victorjimenez
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hello Daniel Harthan

Lets go step by step to solve your case. First it's important that you understand how I2C protocol works. Based on what you wrote I understood that you read the information of I2C that is available in the user manual of the LPC that you are using, this is a good starting point. However, it will be better if you read first the next document: I2C-bus specification and user manual . This document explains all you need to know about I2C protocol.