cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to flash a single (no bord) Kinetis MCU

alexloban
Contributor II

Im a very beginner in embedded system,

i use it only for hobby, a learnd c last year and its very very beautifull to programming on Kinetis MCU and i dont like to swicht to other platform, a lot of people write about documenation of kinetis but i love it :smileyhappy: its nice !

I have now a kwikstik (with J-Link interface) and make me now a second buy-list for my hobby and need your help !

My first buy list is not really working.

I have a idea for a good friend and i will finish my project on my pcb.

I try last days to flash K04Z in tssop package to flash / erase via SWD KWIKSTIK,  but J-Link can not find the mcu (i try it with extra power supply too.)

And now my question for my buy-list  :smileyhappy:

Its possible to flash / debug a single chip on breadboard, no dev board  (if i buy it from distributors like mouser or digikey ...)

wich hardware i need to do it simpel

i think its possible, i see a lot of tutorial about stm32 :smileysad: but not for Kinetis..

PLEAS HELP !

Thank you !

Alex

4 Replies

BlackNight
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi Alex,

yes, you don't need a dev board to program/flash a device. It is so basic that's why you even don't need a tutorial :-):

All what you need is to power the microcontroller and connect it to the SWD debug connector. So you need:

- Vcc (I assume 3.3V)

- GND

- Pull-up the reset pin to Vcc (10k Ohm) and ideally a 100nF to GND

On the debug connector you need:

- SWD DIO

- SWD CLK

- GND

- Vcc

- Reset

I hope this helps,

Erich

alexloban
Contributor II

Hello Erich thank you very very much :smileyhappy:

i make a new order of KE04Z and try it again :smileyhappy: the TSSOP - Package is nice to plant to pcb :smileyhappy:. I damaged the first order :smileyhappy: i think i was wrong with pin counting :smileyhappy: .

I make a circuit can you take a look.