How to get IEEE 1588 PPS ouput using YOCTO on i.MX8M?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to get IEEE 1588 PPS ouput using YOCTO on i.MX8M?

bharatkumarbach
Contributor III

I am working on iMX8M-EVK to generate IEEE 1588 PPS output. It seems like there are two IEEE 1588 event out signals and I needed to use ENET1_1588_EVENT1_OUT as it got routed  to one of the headers on the board. 

I need to make the changes recommended in  https://community.nxp.com/thread/428589

1. Configure IOMUX  for ENET1_1588_EVENT1_OUT

2. Configure IEEE 1588 module to generate ENET1_1588_EVENT1_OUT

I am new to Yocto project and would appreciate any help or guidance in setting up the configuration.

Also

I have included ptpd2 using IMAGE_append (<build_dir>/conf/local.conf file). 

when I run "ptpd2 -A -m -E -I eth0" I can see PTP messages coming out but "echo 1>/sys/class/ptp/ptp0/pps_enable" gives write error  "fec 30be0000.ethernet: no ptp stack is running"

Thanks,

Bharat

0 Kudos
3 Replies

steven_zhang
Contributor V

i want to hnow which pin is the PPS pin on a imx8qxp processor? the ENET0_REFCLK_125M_25M ALT2? 

is the same way to config the 1PPS for both the imx8m and imx8qxp?

0 Kudos

eric_m_will
Contributor I

Hi,

I am having a related problem. In our case, we want to use the eth0 1588 1PPS signal to precisely control the start time of an I/O event on the M4 processor (to an accuracy of within a few microseconds) . I am running ptp4l on the A53. Based on the ptp4l logs it is locking to the laptop I am using for a master clock. We enable the 1 PPS signal using:

echo 1 > /sys/class/ptp/ptp0/pps_enable