cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

imx6q unable to debug linux install

jacobpolloreno
Contributor I

Hello,

I've been trying to get a imx6quad/6dual to boot linux on a pico pi board. I read the linux user guide and flashed the .sdcard image. I've also used mfgtools to flash a u-boot image with no response. One of the issues is that I can't get the serial console to output any information. I've used minicom and picocom but neither output any information whatsoever. I've also messed around with the jumper pins and switches on the back of the board however the documentation isn't clear to the correct setting. I'm a newbie to this space and I've tried to use the mfgtool builds but they always output errors.

Overall, I want to flash the yocto sdcard so I can have linux(preferably ubuntu) running on the board. I don't have access to a display for the board. 

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

nxp_1.jpgnxp_2.jpg

Labels (3)
0 Kudos
3 Replies

Carlos_Musich
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi Jacob,

the most common issues are next:

- SDcard is not inserted correctly or in the correct slot

- SDcard is corrupted/damaged. Please double check that sdcard has been flashed correctly (content is present) and you can try also a different SDcard

- Missing driver, you may install CP210x driver

- Minicom config, please check following document All Boards Serial Console 

- Terminal is closed without closing connection and it gets stuck. In this case you need to close the terminal, unplug the board, plug again and restart terminal. This will make sure that the resource is free to start a new connection.

Regards,
Carlos
NXP Technical Support
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Note: If this post answers your question, please click the Correct Answer button. Thank you!