cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

QSPI FLASH write protect

kensu
Contributor V

Hi,

I am using LPC1830, and I use the dfusec tool to download application image to QSPI flash , also I use dfusec tool to download other user data into flash to another location.

I have a question about QSPI write protection.

I use normal SPI(two SIO) in my other project, and I will use one GPIO to control the write protect pin.

This is my first time to use QPSI(4 SIO), I am not sure how to handle the "write protect".

Now I only use DFUSEC for my download tool.

1. I think the write protect enalbe/disable is handle by DFUSEC tool, it will use the SPIFI API for lock/unlock?

2. After DFUSEC tool complete the wrte, the QSPI will be in "write protect" status? Should I call lock api again?

3. If I write my download tool I need use SPIFI command in my tool, is my understanding correct?

Thanks

Ken

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
5 Replies

Carlos_Mendoza
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi Ken,

The write protection is handled by the caller not by the driver. Serial flash devices provide write-protection in several ways.  Most devices simply have 2 to 5 bits in their status registers that specify what fraction of the device is write protected, possibly in conjunction with a “fraction at top or bottom” bit and/or a “fraction is protected/unprotected” bit.  For such devices the driver simply saves the status byte, then clears all of the 2 to 5 bits so that the whole device is write-enabled.  Some serial flash devices use individual protection bits for each sector.  These include SST quad devices, Atmel devices, and Macronix devices that provide a “WPSEL” command and on which such a command has been executed (Setting WPSEL is an irrevocable operation). 

Hope it helps!

Best Regards,
Carlos Mendoza
Technical Support Engineer

0 Kudos

kensu
Contributor V

Hi

Thanks for reply,

I understood the QSPI more now.