cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RS485 using LPC1857

nelvijohn
Contributor I

Hi all,

I am a beginner to MDK5 from Keil. This is the first time I am working on LPC1857. I have created a web page using the HTTP server sample code from Keil. Now I want to receive values using RS485. So, I am using Uart3 of my LPC1857 for this purpose. The code I have written is given below.

void uart_rs485(void) { SCU_PinConfigure(2,3, SCU_CFG_MODE_FUNC2); SCU_PinConfigure(2,4, SCU_CFG_MODE_FUNC2); GPIO_SetDir(4,11,GPIO_DIR_OUTPUT); LPC_USART3->LCR = 0x83; LPC_USART3->FCR =0x07; LPC_USART3->FDR =0; LPC_USART3->DLM =0; LPC_USART3->DLL =98; LPC_USART3->LCR =0x03;  } void uart_rs485_transmit(void) { GPIO_PinWrite(4,11,1);//Making Transmit Enable high if(LPC_USART3->LSR & 0x20) { LPC_USART3->THR = 83; } }  void uart_rs485_receive(void) { 
GPIO_PinWrite(4,11,0);//Receive Enable a = LPC_USART3->RBR; }

While debugging I came to know that FCR is not loading its value. What might be the reason. Besides, is it require to provide power to the uart unit? Is there any sample code for that? Please help me in this flow.

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
9 Replies

kerryzhou
NXP TechSupport
NXP TechSupport

Hi NELVI JOHN,

Of course, you need to power on the UART3 module.

pastedImage_1.png

This is the basic configuration.

But about the 485 code for LPC1857, I don't have the direct project now, you can refer to this post for LPX1765.

https://community.nxp.com/message/770119?commentID=770119#comment-770119 

Please refer to the 485 code to configuration your LPC1857 at first.

If you still have question, just let me know!

Have a great day,
Kerry

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Note: If this post answers your question, please click the Correct Answer button. Thank you!