cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

MC9S08PA4A programmer

rianzu
Contributor II

Hello,

I'm new to Freecale MCU's but playing a lot with others.

I want to start a project with MC9S08PA4A but no cheap EVM or standalone programmer available.
However, I found some demo board DEMO9S08SF4 for nearby version, MC9S08SF4
http://uk.farnell.com/nxp/demo9s08sf4/sf4-usb-bdm-pot-demo-board/dp/1835062

The question is, can I use this for programming MC9S08PA4A too?
I mean, can the board act as programmer for other MCU's such as PA4A?
(there is a unpopulated programming header on this board)

Thanks in advance,

Labels (1)
7 Replies

pgo
Senior Contributor V

Hi,

A look at the schematic:

http://cache.nxp.com/assets/downloads/data/en/schematics/DEMO9S08SF4SCH.pdf?fsrch=1&sr=4&pageNum=1 

shows that it is has OSBDM based programmer on the board BUT there doesn't appear to be any option to isolate the on-board programmer from the on-board target which would be necessary to program an external device.  You would need to remove the SF4 or cut some tracks. The BDM header appears to be intended to use an external programmer to program the on-board target.  It's also rather expensive.

Do a search for USBDM for a opensource programmer.

There are some links to suppliers here:

USBDM: USBDM Debugger interface for Freescale RS08,HCS08,HCS12,Coldfire and ARM-Kinetis Devices. 

(Required disclaimer - I am not disinterested :smileyhappy:)

bye

rianzu
Contributor II

Hi pgo and thanks for reply,

This is not important, I can cut wires or de-solder MCU and use as programmer. This is because usually, on EVM you can do a lot but for real applications you may need another MCU package, another MCU from the same family and so on. The question is this EVB can be used as programmer?