DEBUGSTR doesn't seem to work ??

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DEBUGSTR doesn't seem to work ??

randyseedle
Contributor III

Ok, I am new to this platform but shouldn't the DEBUGSTR command work ?

I have a new Embedded Artists LPC4088 QuickStart board and a LPC-Link debug probe.

The DEBUGSTR command doesn't seem to product any output.

I saw where someone recommended connecting via USB cable to connector next to the reset button.

No luck connecting with a terminal program.

I tried connecting a UART/USB converter cable. The LPC-Link did not like this at all and would not start a

debug session properly.

So how should this work ? Any ideas what I am doing wrong ?

0 Kudos
9 Replies

randyseedle
Contributor III

Unfortunetly, choosing the mbed/CMSIS-DAP probe does not work. I get the messege below and I never get to debug.

Only using the LPC-Link2 seems to connect correctly to debug.

Error in final launch sequence
Failed to execute MI command:
-target-select extended-remote | crt_emu_cm_redlink -msg-port=49832 -g -mi -2 -pLPC4088 -vendor=NXP -reset=VECTRESET -ProbeHandle=2 -CoreIndex=0 -flash-driver=LPC177x_8x_407x_8x_512.cfx -x C:/Users/Randy/Documents/LPCXpresso_8.2.0_647/workspace/webserver_freertos/Debug
Error message from debugger back end:
Remote communication error.  Target disconnected.: No error.

0 Kudos

lpcxpresso_supp
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Debugging via an LPC-Link2 will only provide a VCOM port for those LPC-Link2 variants built into an LPCXpresso V2/V3 board, not with the standalone LPC-Link2 probe hardware.

If you want to get serial port output with the 4088 QSB you will either have to :

1) Debug using mbed/CMSIS-DAP probe built into the QSB

2) Connect your FTDI cable