AnsweredAssumed Answered

Problems with RPi2 camera and Yocto

Question asked by evan kahn on Jul 1, 2016
Latest reply on Aug 9, 2016 by evan kahn

Hi all -

I am trying to get video4linux working with the Raspberry Pi 2 camera (board v.1.3, sensor model OV5647), which is plugged into the MIPI/CSI port on my i.mx6 developer board (QWKS-SCMIMX6). Thus far it is recognized as an i2c device but does not show up under /dev/video0.

I am new to working with the Linux kernel and I can retrace the steps taken to get here -- please let me know if I have any misunderstandings that are leading to this not working.

I did a relatively clean build of yocto, starting from the meta-fsl-arm layer, and applied board-specific patch files for the SCM-IMX6.

After an initial build where I confirmed that yocto worked and booted, I spent a while grepping through the device tree files. Eventually I found the following code in the build folder, in the device tree file /arch/arm/boot/dts/imx6q.dtsi:

aips-bus@02100000 { /* AIPS2 */
                        mipi_dsi: mipi@021e0000 {
                                compatible = "fsl,imx6q-mipi-dsi";
                                reg = <0x021e0000 0x4000>;
                                interrupts = <0 102 0x04>;
                                gpr = <&gpr>;
                                clocks = <&clks IMX6QDL_CLK_HSI_TX>, <&clks IMX6QDL_CLK_VIDEO_27M>;
                                clock-names = "mipi_pllref_clk", "mipi_cfg_clk";
                                status = "disabled";
                        };
                };

So I pushed a patch that changed status = "disabled" to status="enabled". I do not know if this was the right thing to do, but it seemed to make sense. The patch worked and yocto compiled without any issues.