Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LPC11Cxx CAN baud rate calculation?

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by kty-tty on Fri Jan 27 02:57:39 MST 2012
Hi,
I have a 12MHz crystal on an LPC11C12, and I am trying to initialise the C_CAN for 1MHz.
I am having trouble with the bit timing initialisation. I can't find the PROP_SEG value or register!!
As you know the CAN bit timing is broken into 4 segments, and the baud rate is the inverse of the sum of each of them ie f=1/(tsync + tprop+tph1+tph2). Without the prop term how do i work this out?
ie can someone please help me with the BT register settings for 1MHz from a 12MHz crystal?

I have tried to reverse engineer the settings from the sample codes to work out what the PROP_SEG value is if it is fixed but am not having any luck. I am also new to CAN so would like some guidance on positioning of the thp1/tph2.
Any help appreciated.

Also, I have very low power requirements I am trying to meet so cannot just change the PLL for 48MHz. If worst comes to worst I might change it for 16MHz, but i would rather not!
0 Kudos
17 Replies

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by Ex-Zero on Fri Feb 10 12:54:21 MST 2012

Quote:
I have global networks of 1000 or 2000 nodes . I divide this network in CAN sub-networks of 250 nodes.

#1 Dividing to 120 or 125 nodes would give you the opportunity to use CANopen with LPC11Cxx.

#2 This separate 120 node BUS could be managed by 1 LPC17xx Gateway (CAN1 connected to 120 node BUS, CAN2 connected to Gateway BUS). This Gateway could do all the dump stuff like heartbeat :)

#3 Master is connected to Gateway BUS and transmitting / receiving compressed data.

Advantages:[INDENT][LEFT] #1 BUS problems don't disturb all nodes, just 120. Troubleshooting in modular design is much easier ;)

#2 A lot of traffic is limited in Node BUS (especially heartbeat).

#3 To add 120 nodes you just add a new gateway.