cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I2C doesn't work (LPCXpresso 1769 EVB)

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by PatrickChang on Thu Nov 17 03:48:24 MST 2011
Hi,
I am new to use LPCX1769 and trying to let LPC1769 MCU as a host to control the other i2c slave devices.

I had imported a project called "I2C"(from "NXP_LPCXpresso1769_MCB1700_2011-02-11.zip") and completed the project compiling.

After record the program to the flash rom, I plug the POWER-IN + GND + I2C/SCL/SDA connectors. (There are 4.7k-Ohm pull-high resistors connect to SCL and SDA)
And check it works or not.
The result shows it doesn't work.
I'd tried PORT_USED form 1 to 3, but there  is no any signal change (I plug SCL to an oscillscope, the signal is flat).

Could someone tell me what is wrong?
0 Kudos
7 Replies

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by serge on Mon Jan 16 17:02:43 MST 2012
What I am afraid of is that he says that he just imported and compiled the project... did he put the addresses of the slaves in the software?
I don't think the resistors are the source of the problem here.
Did he notice that there is already an eeprom 24LC on board?
Are the signals on the bus correct? Is there an ack or nack transmitted by the slaves?

Serge
0 Kudos

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by atomicdog on Mon Jan 16 12:48:56 MST 2012

Quote: Zero
2 pairs of pullups (3.3k parallel to 4.7k = 2k) are still inside safe I2C conditions. Even reducing pullups to 1k isn't crucial :) So this problem isn't caused by 2 additional 4.7ks :rolleyes:

You're assuming you know what his setup looks like and how much bus capacitance there is.
0 Kudos

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by Ex-Zero on Mon Jan 16 12:18:08 MST 2012

Quote: atomicdog
The LPC1769 Xpresso board already has 3.3k pullups on one of the Ports.