cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need help starting out with NXP LPC1114 coding

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by AdrianYong on Sun Aug 12 23:36:54 MST 2012
Hey guys,

I do know C programming but I am new to microcontroller programming.

Firstly, I notice that I cannot find information about coding from data sheet of the LPC1114. The datasheet does describe the registers but not their "names" in the compiler.

where do I get information regarding the "names/pointers" as shown below and ways of accessing other functions?

LPC_12C->STAT
LPC_12C->CONCLR
LPC_12C->CONSET
LPC_IOCON
LPC_SYSCON
0 Kudos
4 Replies

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by frame on Tue Aug 14 11:39:13 MST 2012
Having turned to develop SW for microcontrollers just recently (i.e. a few years ago), I understand the confusion behind this question.

In C/C++ coding for a 'real' OS, fixed addresses are almost taboo. Interrupts are hidden in the OS, "while (1)" loops are virtually unknown,
and there are plenty of comfortable library functions.

To the things you mentioned:

Quote:
LPC_12C->STAT
LPC_12C->CONCLR
LPC_12C->CONSET
LPC_IOCON
LPC_SYSCON    

It is a common 'trick' in embedded development to define a struct exactly matching the register layout of a peripheral,
and creating an instance of this struct at the actual address of the peripheral. This way, you can have the compiler
and linker fiddle with this addresses, while having nice looking and portable source code.
The header file defining this structs are usually supplied by the silicon vendor. In this case, ARM and NXP.
Note that all those structured register definitions are declared 'volatile'. That keyword used rather frequently in embedded SW.

To come to the point:
In addition to the CMSIS files and the user manual, I suggest to grab a tutorial to embedded C programming.