must have BDM to develop coldfire based applications?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

must have BDM to develop coldfire based applications?

bluehacker
Contributor III
hi, everyone.
I am a newbie for coldfire. recently ,I am going to develop one board for industrial control using coldfire v4 core cpu. maybe mcf5407. I am not sure some important issues for coldfire based development. hope some explanation.thanks advaned!
1. how to debug coldfire, must use BDM? how about JTAG?  during these years, I develop arm based board( s3c2410 etc) only using one parallel jtag cable, no need any emulators. for me , I only want to find one method to write the bootloader/OS image into flash. when I can write image into flash, I can use printk... to debug os kernel or device driver. can jtag do this?
2. if BDM is a must have. where I can buy one BDM supported v4 core in china( I am a chinese)? thanks!
3. the mcf54455evb and mcf5407evb contains one BDM emulator?
4. because CW is not free, I am just an amateur NO money afford the license fee. can  I use GNU tool to develop? how to connect BDM with GDB etc? 
forgive my poor english!
I am eagerly wait for your reply!
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
12 Replies

bluehacker
Contributor III
hi, thanks all!
I maybe didn't express my question correctly.  if you develop one board using coldfire, at the beginning, the board is a "bare" board.you must burn image into flash from scrath. my question is if or not onemust use BDM do this? can use another way to burn flash from scrath?
is TBLCF support coldfire v2? how about v4?
I  will open eyes widely on the new update open source bdm!
0 Kudos

ChrisJohns
Contributor I
Bootstrapping code into flash can be done in couple of ways. If you have the production ability you could program the flash before placement on the board. I have not seen this done but I assume it can be. The other way is to use BDM and here a few of solutions exist.