Newbie questions, LPCOpen, CMSIS? What to use? what to learn?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie questions, LPCOpen, CMSIS? What to use? what to learn?

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by perigonza on Thu Dec 18 12:57:32 MST 2014
Hi all!

Subject says most of it. I'm new to NXP and getting a bit lost. I'm coming from arduino and similar systems trying to take the next step onto my uC knowledge.

But I'm getting lost with so many differences and so little information. I do not understand if I have to use CMSIS (the standard way as I understand) or LPCOpen to program the uC (lpc15xx in my case). I'm looking for any tutorials, books or whatever place to find information on how to begin.

I can not find any refference on the library/libraries, no user guide on how to program the thing ... it all seems different to regular ARM way of doing things .. I'm tryting to program in c languaje.

As you can see I'm pretty frustrated, any help on where to go next is really welcome.

Thanks to all in advance,

Pedro
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
9 Replies

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by yarshevich on Tue Feb 17 15:51:19 MST 2015
Yep. Bit confusing.
But there is a link to the documentation on the same page where you download LPCOpen examples for your chip family. Just keep reading the table :)

Use free LPCXpresso studio.
Then you'll need to download LPCOpen projects for any board that uses the closest chip you have.
And, finally, the documentation (same table row as your LPCOpen examples, just a few columns to the right).
Now you have all you need to jump-start.
0 Kudos

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by 1234567890 on Sat Jan 03 03:16:18 MST 2015