cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Linux+FreeRTOS early bootstrapping problems

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by omegahacker on Sat May 10 18:14:43 MST 2014
Disclaimer: I'm just getting started on ARM finally, but I'm intimately familiar with bare-metal MCU development otherwise, specifically on AVR Xmega.

My end goal is to get a FreeRTOS build running on the M0 under the control of a ucLinux kernel on the M4.  I'm using Emcraft's BSP, which gets me to the point of being able to compile code and run it over NFS, no problems there so far.

At this point I'm just trying to get *anything* running on the M0.  I've written a trivial test program:

#include "lpc43xx.h"

void main() __attribute__ ((naked));
void main() {
  LPC_SCU->SFSPE_5 = 4;
  LPC_GPIO_PORT->DIR[7] |= (1<<5);
  while (1) ;
}

I compile and generate a *raw* binary image with:

arm-uclinuxeabi-gcc -O0 -I. -mcpu=cortex-m0 -mthumb -c test.c -o test.o
arm-uclinuxeabi-objcopy -O binary test.o test.bin

This results in the following assembly:

00000000 <main>:
   0:   4a06            ldr     r2, [pc, #24]   ; (1c <main+0x1c>)
   2:   4b07            ldr     r3, [pc, #28]   ; (20 <main+0x20>)
   4:   2104            movs    r1, #4
   6:   50d1            str     r1, [r2, r3]
   8:   4a06            ldr     r2, [pc, #24]   ; (24 <main+0x24>)
   a:   4906            ldr     r1, [pc, #24]   ; (24 <main+0x24>)
   c:   4b06            ldr     r3, [pc, #24]   ; (28 <main+0x28>)
   e:   58c9            ldr     r1, [r1, r3]
  10:   2320            movs    r3, #32
  12:   4319            orrs    r1, r3
  14:   4b04            ldr     r3, [pc, #16]   ; (28 <main+0x28>)
  16:   50d1            str     r1, [r2, r3]
  18:   e7f2            b.n     0 <main>
  1a:   46c0            nop                     ; (mov r8, r8)
  1c:   40086000        .word   0x40086000
  20:   00000714        .word   0x00000714