Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Bootloader puzzle...

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by DT1 on Fri Jan 17 13:58:11 MST 2014
Hi,

I'm currently developping an application on the LPC4357. I need to implement a bootloader and to be honest I'm not sure where to start for a NXP MCU. I have limited experiences with bootloader in general.

The ideal scenario for me would be this:

- The user puts the new firmware on the embedded file system using USB Mass Storage.
- On reset, the bootloader verify the embedded file system; if a firmware application file is present, it copies it into internal Flash at the firmware application address.
- Upon copy completion, the bootloader jumps to the application memory address and the application starts
- The application deletes the firmware application  file present on the file system.

I've searched around and couldn't find any examples that would guide me a little to achieve that (from the bootloading point of view, not the file system or USB one).

Anybody has a suggestion for the addressing, examples, comments on how it would be best to implement that ?

Thanks!
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
3 Replies

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by MarcVonWindscooting on Mon Feb 10 10:39:15 MST 2014
Hi DT1,

I'm a beginner with LPC43xx, too.
As far as I can see, the appnote applies to the LPC43xx. Because the M0 isn't running if you don't start it. The 'M4 bootloader' can write both his own FLASH area and the FLASH intended for the M0's use. It seems, we're relatively free in choosing the locations of the code for the two processors - even if a (bad) choice would lead to a poor performance.