Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LPC4357 dev kit - Element14 - virtual COM port not working

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by ancuk on Wed Apr 23 08:46:20 MST 2014
Hi All,

Total newbie to this device and have stumbled already in the changing room - let alone the first hurdle..... Can anyone please help?

Have the LPC4357 dev kit, a USB cable, and a ULINK2 device. I wanted to try some of the demo examples and get a feel.  Final aim is to re-write lots of legacy Freescale MC68300 code to this device.

Am running, WinXP, Keil 4.74 uVision, and have downloaded code, drivers and examples from Element14. Plugging board into a USB port on laptop prompts for driver-install, as expected. INF file provided did not work ('device driver not found') - the lpc18xx-vcom.inf contained a link to an 'unknown' device

[DeviceList]
%DESCRIPTION%=LPC18xxUSB, USB\VID_1FC9&PID_2002/ABCD
-->
[DeviceList]
%DESCRIPTION%=LPC18xxUSB, USB\VID_1FC9&PID_000C

I changed this line, device driver then loaded .... but still a problem, as get a 'CODE 10' - device cannot start.

Anyone got any good ideas? I have tried several laptops - same problem.

Cheers,
Manny
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
4 Replies

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by martincollett on Sat Oct 18 03:33:23 MST 2014
Thanks - the driver Wouter posted fixed the problem for me!
Regards, Martin
0 Kudos

lpcware
NXP Employee
NXP Employee
Content originally posted in LPCWare by Wouter on Thu Apr 24 09:02:00 MST 2014
Hi Manny,

The VID/PID are set by software. If your VID/PID differs from the driver, my best guess would be you're using another/older version of the CDC example. The one I'm referring to is example2 of this link: http://www.element14.com/community/docs/DOC-62632/l/element14-software-examples-and-demos-for-the-lp...