Linker Error - MC90S08QE

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Linker Error - MC90S08QE

OZ1
Contributor I
I am new to using Codewarrior and have been more than slightly annoyed at my present problem.  I am using processor expert with MC90S08QE setup and have created a header file that will hold variables to be used in various parts of the program.  For right now, there is only one variable.

unsigned char Send_SPI;

this program will loop in the main method until a periodic timer event occurs, then it will send out an spi packet.  My problem is that when i use the #include in my main.c  as well as in my events.c file, I get the Linker error L1818 Send_SPI duplicated in main.c.o and events.c.o

I guess my question is how do I just do a simple #include "myfile.h" and use the variable located in there without getting this linker error?

Added p/n to subject.

Message Edited by NLFSJ on 2008-04-08 04:34 PM
Labels (1)
0 Kudos
11 Replies

OZ1
Contributor I
Thanks for the tips everybody.
0 Kudos

allawtterb
Contributor IV
The normal method for this is to not declare the variables in the header file but at the top of your source file. Then in your header file you put an extern declaration and place guards.  Your source file looks like:
Code:
#include "SPI.h"/* Variable Declarations */unsigned char Send_SPI;...

Then your header file looks like:
Code:
#ifndef SPI_HEADER  // Header guard#define SPI_HEADER...extern unsigned char Send_SPI;....#endif

You can then include the header file where ever needed.

There is more than one way to do this and I have seen variables placed in the header file and to only include them if the source file calling it.  Something like this, the source file looking like:
Code:
#define SPI_SOURCE#include "SPI.h"....

and header file:
Code: