cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CAN driver implementation and testing

ramanjineyuluth
Contributor II

Hi,
I am new to CAN driver implementation in Linux. The CAN driver already is there in Linux "drivers/net/can/Flexcan.c". When I compiled kernel source it generates the Flexcan.o file but in the below link inserting all CAN related modules. To test CAN these all modules we have to include or not? Please see the link: http://www.armadeus.com/wiki/index.php?title=CAN_bus_Linux_driver
I am having two i.mx6q sabrelite boards how to communicate these two boards using CAN protocol. To communicate Flexcan.c driver file we have to implement application program or not? If you have any CAN application program Please share us, it is very useful to understand and communicate with CAN driver. If application program is not there please give me good suggestion how application is communicate with the driver code. Please help me how to test CAN between two embedded Linux boards.

Thanks & Regards,
Ram.

Labels (1)
7 Replies

ramanjineyuluth
Contributor II

Hi Gary,

Thanks for your reply.

I will test CAN driver with existing kernel code. In this kernel source code the CAN modules are compiled as built in kernel, so there is no chance to insert modules manually because it is selected as [*] - built in kernel. When we poweron the board those modules are automatically inserted.

May I know why these may modules are inserting to test CAN. In manual there is only FlexCAN, Only Flexcan module is not  enough to test the CAN. May I know why dependents modules are required?

Can you please send any document how two I.MX6Q sabrelite boards are communicating with CAN.

The Flexcan driver understanding is difficult to me, Just I have to know Flexcan Initialization and how to send and receive CAN message. In Flexcan driver "flexcan_start_xmit" function is used to transfer CAN message, may I right?