AnsweredAssumed Answered

Migrating existing projects to a new version of LPCXpresso IDE

Question asked by LPCware Support on Mar 31, 2016

This FAQ provides a number of hints and suggestions for things that you should do or consider when migrating to a new version of the LPCXpresso IDE. These are primarily focussed at moving between major releases (for example, upgrading from LPCXpresso IDE v5.x to LPCXpresso v6.x), but it is good practice to consider taking some of these into account when moving between minor releases too (for example, updating from LPCXpresso IDE v6.a.b to v6.x.y).

 

Generally migrating an existing project from one (major) version of the LPCXpresso IDE to a later version should be straightforward, though you should always browse the supplied documentation and the online FAQs. However there are a number of things that we recommend that you do when carrying out such a migration...

 

Import projects into a fresh workspace


When moving to a new LPCXpresso IDE version we strongly recommend that you create a new workspace and import the projects into this new workspace. Whilst a new LPCXpresso IDE version can open workspaces created by an earlier major release, a workspace that has been used by a new LPCXpresso IDE version may not correctly load into an earlier version.

 

Thus for example we would not recommend trying to open a workspace that has been created/edited in LPCXpresso 6 with LPCXpresso 5.

 

It is also important that you take a backup copy of your projects before starting the upgrade process.

 

How to import projects into a new workspace is detailed in the FAQ How to import/export projects

 

Recreate launch configurations


If you do wish to use projects from an existing workspace, we recommend deleting any launch configurations within your project which were created by an earlier version. These files are typically named "<projectname> Debug.launch" and "<projectname> Release.launch"). The easiest way to do this is to right click on the project in Project Explorer and select:

 

Launch Configurations -> Delete Launch Configurations

 

from the context sensitive menu. The IDE will then automatically create a fresh set of launch configurations the next time that you start a debug session.

 

More information on launch configurations, please see the FAQ Launch Configuration Menu

 

Startup code


We would strongly recommend that you consider updating your startup code to match the latest generated by the project wizard for the part that you are using.

Outcomes