I plan to use Freescale S08 MCUs for my application, in India. I have never used Freescale before. Please compare S08 with other popular MCUs like PIC, AVR, etc.

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I plan to use Freescale S08 MCUs for my application, in India. I have never used Freescale before. Please compare S08 with other popular MCUs like PIC, AVR, etc.

Jump to solution
pratiekbhadrana
Contributor III

It is very important as I plan to use the selected products for a long time. It looks like Freescale doesn't really support or promote their 8-bit or 16-bit range. It appears that there are no low cost evaluation tools, that are a must these days. Experienced users please help. Thanks......

Also, how is Freescale's presence in India?

Pratiek

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
david_diaz
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

What Jennie was trying to say is that the industry trend is towards the Kinetis Microcontrollers due to various factors as its features and costs, but it does not means that the S08 family is not recommended for new designs.

Actually there are excellent choices as the Freescale’s 5V 8-bit S08P MCU sub-family.

This sub-family gives your designs more durability and reliability in harsh industrial and user interface environments, meeting appliance safety standard IEC60730. The S08P family is simple, yet powerful, and offers exceptional EFT/ESD performance.

S08P: 8-bit Microcontroller Family web page: Overview, Documentation, Software & Tools, Orderable parts:

http://www.freescale.com/webapp/sps/site/prod_summary.jsp?code=S08P&nodeId=01624684491437EDDD

There are other good recommendations as the S08SH, S08AC or S08GW sub-families.

Find more information about the S08 Family in the next link:

http://www.freescale.com/webapp/sps/site/taxonomy.jsp?code=HCS08&cof=0&am=0