cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

FRDM-KL25Z OpenSDA Questions

controlguy
Contributor I

Group,

Sorry for the newbie post here but I am just getting started w/ the FRDM-KL25Z board and am trying to understand something:

What is the significance of the 2 USB ports on the board? I see one of them can be used for debugging and loading of code. However, what happens in a production design that needs a single USB port to connect to a computer where the computer is acting as the host? How do you then load code into the board for initial rollout and upgrades?

Labels (2)
0 Kudos
7 Replies

controlguy
Contributor I

Thanks for the response. Looks like the header is the way to go. Better to be safe than sorry. Do you have a preference on which one you use and why?

Thanks!

0 Kudos

BlackNight
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Typically, I use the 2x5 (2 mm) header with SWD, as it uses less pins, so I have more pins available on the microcontroller.

See Using the FRDM-K64F with CodeWarrior | MCU on Eclipse

I use the 'standard' header, but if space is a concern, I have seen designs with a smaller header and then using an adapter.

0 Kudos

controlguy
Contributor I

Erich,

I apologize. My question should have read which one, P&E Multilink or a Segger J-Link, do you use and why.

Thanks for the other response though. Your blog posts are VERY helpful! :smileyhappy:

Ed

0 Kudos

BlackNight
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi Ed,