AnsweredAssumed Answered

USB Host with MFS problems

Question asked by Adrian Rockall on May 1, 2014
Latest reply on Oct 19, 2015 by Adrian Rockall

I am using MQX version 4.1 and a modified sample web-hvac project with the IAR workbench 7.1. I am running the project on the TWR-K60F120M and the TWR-SER boards.
I have only been using this system for a few weeks and it is my first time with MQX and USB stacks, etc.

The sample functions are all working fine but I have added a shell command to do a file read speed test. This simply records the time to read the contents of a file from a mounted device into a memory buffer in a loop.

E.g.

uint32_t bufSize = 10 * 512;
buffer = (char*)_mem_alloc_system_zero( bufSize );
if (NULL == buffer)
{
  printf( "Failed to allocate read buffer" );
  fclose( fd );
  return_code = SHELL_EXIT_ERROR;
}

printf( "Reading from %s:\n", argv[ 1 ] );
_time_get_elapsed( &startTime );
while ((count = read( fd, buffer, bufSize )) > 0)
{
  bytes += count;
}
_time_get_elapsed( &endTime );
int32_t err = ferror( fd );
fclose( fd );
_time_diff( &startTime, &endTime, &diffTime );
if (err != FS_EOF)
{
  printf( "\nRead Error Code %i\n", err );
}
float time1 = (float)((diffTime.SECONDS * 1000) + diffTime.MILLISECONDS);
float kbytes_sec = (float)bytes / time1;

printf( "\nRead %i bytes in %i.%i S - %.3f KB/S\n", bytes, diffTime.SECONDS, diffTime.MILLISECONDS, kbytes_sec );
_mem_free( buffer );

Files on an SD card are working fine at around 3.5MB/s but I am having problems with files on a USB stick. If I connect the stick directly to the TWR-SER USB port I can read a 97660 bytes file with no problems but a 1234920448

bytes file fails. If I connect the stick via a hub then even the smaller file sometimes fails.
The failure modes are below: