New to Code warrior IDE and Kinetis ... I Have Some questions regarding it ?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

New to Code warrior IDE and Kinetis ... I Have Some questions regarding it ?

sivakumarananth
Contributor I

Hi all ,

I am new to Code Warrior ide and Kinetis microcontrollers. Have so many doubts regarding to it.

1. What is Clean and when we clean what happens in the background ?

2. What is the difference between build all and build project ?

3. What is mean by .afx file ? how to create it  and when to create it ?

4. What is mean by .elf file or .abs file and how to create it  ?

5. Which file to be loaded into the target for debugging ?

6. What are S19 files (S-record files) ? When they are created during the compilation process ?

7. Need to study about the MQX rtos from basic, Which guide to follow ?

Please help with the above questions and also mention the reference file from where you have got it ?

Most of all, If I need to know the meaning of all the words that are used in the Code Warrior IDE , Which Guide or Manual I need to refer to get the answer for all the words.

Thanks in Advance

Siva Kumar A

Labels (1)
0 Kudos
8 Replies

BlackNight
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi Siva,

1) Clean is used to re-build the make files. This is needed e.g. if the make files are out of sync (see No rule to make target | MCU on Eclipse)

2) 'Build all' builds all the project in the workspace, while 'build' only builds the selected one. You probably want just to build one project, as build all might take more time.

3) .afx is an extension of the legacy Freescale ARM compiler for the binary output file. More common extensions are .elf (for ELF/Dwarf) files. It is created by the linker when you build your project.