Imx28evk variant, how to do something simple?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Imx28evk variant, how to do something simple?

peteewg
Contributor III

Hi Guys,

We have an imx28 processor board, based around the reference schematics, but with a slightly different pin mapping to fit our application.

I'm a hardware engineer, I can design integrated circuits and pcbs, but now I want to turn my hand to the embedded software side of things. The problem I am facing is where to begin, there is such a vast amount of information out there that it's hard to find a starting point. So I thought I'd ask how to do something simple and see if you guys could point me in right direction (I'm all for RTFM, I just need to know which M), all of this may have been covered in other posts I just wanted to gather it in one place, if this useful for other folk I will tidy it up.

So let's propose a noddy set of tasks for the IMX28EVK:

1) Build a linux distribution,

2) Setup a cross compile toolchain.

3) Add in an SSH server,

4) Add Nano (text editor) to the distro.

5) Access a GPIO VIA sysfs through the command line and switch on/off an LED

6) Access the GPIO using a GPIO driver and write a simple application to flash the LED

7) Set up an interrupt off another GPIO and have the LED change at the bush of a button.

8) Use another pin function (e.g. LRADC).

The Story So Far

1, 2) I followed Daiane's excellent Yocto training :https://community.freescale.com/docs/DOC-94849

As Well as Otavio's Tutorial : Yocto: Training in English

Good stuff so far:

3) add in an SSH server (I don't have a serial port),

I found this magic line to put into my local.conf file (I'm not sure this was the correct way to go about it):

EXTRA_IMAGE_FEATURES = "debug-tweaks ssh-server-openssh"

Source : https://community.freescale.com/thread/309578