AnsweredAssumed Answered

Unable use Segments, flash varibles

Question asked by Carl Norman on Aug 4, 2007
Latest reply on Aug 4, 2007 by CompilerGuru

This is confusing me, so i thought i would ask for some help.

I have to write some code to use a flash table for variables, and want to be able to address them using their names, and put the data in the required segment.

(forgive me, i am reasonably new to C programming and Codewarrior, my background is 99% assembly code)

I do want to stay away from using actual address references due to the complex nature of the data that will be stored in flash.

I have modified the PRM file to this:

//************************************************************************************
/* This is a linker parameter file for the GP32 */

NAMES END /* CodeWarrior will pass all the needed files to the linker by command line. But here you may add your own files too. */

SEGMENTS /* Here all RAM/ROM areas of the device are listed. Used in PLACEMENT below. */

ROM             =  READ_ONLY    0x9000 TO 0xFDFF;      //Moved from 0x8000 to 0x9000 to make room for flash data storage
    F_RAM           =  READ_ONLY    0x8000 TO 0x8FFF;      //Added read write block for flash data storage
    Z_RAM           =  READ_WRITE   0x0040 TO 0x00FF;
    RAM             =  READ_WRITE   0x0100 TO 0x023F;
    ROM_IMAGE       =  READ_ONLY    0xF000 TO 0xF2FF RELOCATE_TO 0x0180;
END

PLACEMENT /* Here all predefined and user segments are placed into the SEGMENTS defined above. */
    DEFAULT_RAM                         INTO  RAM;
    DEFAULT_ROM, ROM_VAR, STRINGS       INTO  ROM; /*  In case you want to use  as well, be sure the option -OnB=b is passed to the compiler. */
    _DATA_ZEROPAGE, MY_ZEROPAGE         INTO  Z_RAM;
    UserFlashData                       INTO  F_RAM;

ToCopyToRAM                         INTO  ROM_IMAGE;
END

STACKSIZE 0x50

VECTOR 0 _Startup /* Reset vector: this is the default entry point for an application. */