First BootLoader !!! Do I need a OSJTAG on a proto for the first upadate ?

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

First BootLoader !!! Do I need a OSJTAG on a proto for the first upadate ?

joelesco
Contributor III

Hi everybody !  I come back again with a  stupid question but ... really problematic for me :smileyhappy:

I'll made a prototype with a K20 and other stuff like display. I will communicate to MCU by the UART. I would like to know if when I will try to update the

the final mass production of the MCU flash image with bootloader capability

I can directly made it by the UART PORT ? Cause I remember a similar case when I studied PIC18, and it was really problematic cause it wasn't possible  !

I hope someone have already do that !

Thanks !

Labels (1)
Tags (1)
0 Kudos
6 Replies

joelesco
Contributor III

I am aware that my request was not clear . That's why I'll try to explain my problem in a better way !

I want to start a prototype with a Kinetis K20 and for the beginning only an UART communication.

So my problem is this one : the first time when you want to put the C  code on the MCU you need to communicate but what 'is the best solution ?Made a simple schedule and comme with a Flash programmer like this one :http://www.pemicro.com/products/product_viewDetails.cfm?product_id=15320143 to be able to use the boot loader with the serial PORT the next time  ?

People who use it in the industry what do they do ?

thanks !

0 Kudos

thomasgrieger
Contributor III

Hi Joe,

it depends on your goals and the actual situation.

prototypes/development:

Normally one would use the JTAG/SWD interface to flash new versions of the software, especially in the early stages of development. Even if a bootloader is available it is possible to use the JTAG/SWD interface as it is much faster than UART communication.

mass production: