cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

KL25Z problem

Jump to solution
jeffhaller
Contributor II

I just started playing with a FRDM-KL25Z development board today but now I can't get it to run firmware.  I tried a couple of the pre-built firmware files from the freescale Quick Start Package without issue but now whatever I load onto the drive during bootloader mode does not run when I restart the device.  I can always go into bootloader mode and see the flashing LED and the rate of the flashing changes when I put a program on the board but nothing ever runs upon restart.  Does anyone know what has happened and if there is a way to fix it? 

1 Solution
BlackNight
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

If it blinks, usually this means

a) wrong file format you try to load

b) no OpenSDA (e.g. MSD bootloader) firmware loaded

c) wrong OpenSDA firmware loaded

I suspect the later.

>>I have tried loading basically every file in Freescales quick start package while in boot mode.

What is 'boot mode' for you? To load an S19 file, the device needs to show up as 'FRDM-KL25Z' device. If it shows up as 'BOOTLOADER', then you are in the wrong mode.  Plug in the KL25Z with the OpenSDA USB port. Does the device show up named "FRDM-KL25Z" as MSD Bootloader Device' (see The Freescale OpenSDA Trap: “No Device Available”, or something like that… post)? If not, then it is not in MSD mode.

To get into MSD (Mass Storage device bootloader) mode, see "Changing the Board back to MSD Bootloader (P&E OpenSDA)" in above post.

I hope this helps.

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
16 Replies
jeffhaller
Contributor II

So, here is my current state.  I have tried loading basically every file in Freescales quick start package while in boot mode and each time the SDA led will change from alternating every .5 second to blinking in groups of 7 flashes.  When I power cycle the board I get no response.