cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lowest Cost Boot Design ?

Jump to solution
ChrisNielsen
Contributor III

I'm designing for a very cost sensitive application.  I was planning to use low-end SPI NOR FLASH as my boot/storage device with no DDR external memory -- the on-board RAM (1MB) is sufficient for my data needs and my code will fit completely in the 512 KB cache.

The issue is that with "load and go" approach, I "waste" ~512KB of precious on-board RAM for my code's initial execution location which is useless since it is quickly pulled into cache and the 512 KB of RAM is never accessed again and I am left with 512 KB of RAM data space as opposed to a full 1 MB if I could execute in place (XIP).

>>> Or, is there a trick where I can lock all my code into cache then recover the 512 KB of initial code location and reuse it as data RAM?

So, I am studying all XIP options.  I only see two listed: 1) Quad SPI, 2) Parallel NOR FLASH on FlexBus.

1) Quad SPI.  My concern here is whether or not it is possible to boot from a single 4-bit wide (quad) SPI device.  RM Table 19-9 seems to imply that two devices are required and the fact that the Tower board has two adds to my concern.

>>> So...is it possible to XIP from a single 4-bit SPI device?

Spansion S25FL032P is one example of a low-cost (<$0.60 @ 1K) quad SPI part that I am considering.

Thanks, Chris

Labels (5)
0 Kudos
1 Solution
naoumgitnik
Senior Contributor V

Hello Chris,

1. Without digging too dip, earlier you mentioned booting from the QSPI1 yourself ("... I did more reading in the RM. It appears that if QuadSPI1 is selected by BOOT_CFG[1]...") + there is a thread on the Community forum about booting via this bus.
  2. Yes - apparently, if you are in the 1-bit mode, the other 3 bits are ignored. It is unclear what the "low-end" term means, but, as long as the bus specification is met by both the memory and the processor, everything is supposed to work.