changing project in CW 10.4

cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

changing project in CW 10.4

paulbrooking
Contributor II

Hi I am new to CW, a thing I don't understand is switching between projects. For example I often want to switch to a completely new project to debug a small part of the project without changing anything in the main project.

I can't find any way to switch the IDE between projects, I can see how to close a project under the project menu (but this does not appear to have closed all connections to the old project), but how do I open a new project (this option is greyed out).

I have made several projects with the wizard in different project folders as guided by the wizard, but the way they behave seems all mixed up, for example the console output tab is now showing the name of a project I have just closed.

What am I doing wrong ?

Paul

Labels (1)
6 Replies

paulbrooking
Contributor II

Thanks Marius and Erich,

I understand now, I will use a different workspace for each project. I had thought wrongly that a workspace is where more than one project could be kept.

Paul

0 Kudos

BlackNight
NXP Employee
NXP Employee

Hi Paul,

actually, a workspace can hold *many* projects! So no need in my view to have multiple workspaces. I have a workspace with >40 projects, for different targets and with different settings.

The workspace contains 'common' settings. If you have multiple workspaces, you end up with different settings if you do not copy the settings too. See Copy my workspace settings | MCU on Eclipse

I hope this helps.

paulbrooking
Contributor II

Hi Erich,

The problem I was having was that the IDE seemed to be not distinguishing between the different projects, but at that stage I had not discovered how it is possible to open and close the project folder with project/close and open ; is that what I was doing wrong. So if I have closed projects in the work space they will have any effect ?

0 Kudos