AnsweredAssumed Answered

i.mx6 Aptina AR0330 MIPI driver

Question asked by Ivan Kozic on Jun 17, 2013
Latest reply on May 17, 2017 by STone Alexander
Branched to a new discussion

Hi all,

I am having major difficulties in making AR0330 run on an i.mx6 system. I am fairly new to i.mx6 / Linux, but I'm getting into it quite fast - Nevertheless, I was wondering if someone could give me some pointers on how to proceed, as currently I am stuck.

I have written a driver for Aptina AR0330 based on OV5640 MIPI driver. The concept is the same, although Omnivision has some different commands and settings. Virtual channel should be fixed to 0 by Aptina, whereas with Omnivision it is selectable through a register. MIPI is functional, but after that something goes wrong.

Currently, I believe that the major issue is the format - OV has YUV, while Aptina has Bayer pattern. The RM for i.mx6Q specifies that on-the-fly processing on the IPU for Bayer pattern is not supported (I don't really know what this means - I guess it has to buffer a frame to the memory first).

I have set up 2 lanes and MIPI is working I suppose (no ERR regs). Mipi format is set to RAW12 (as sensor outputs 12 bits). V4L puzzles me - there is a ioctl in the driver which is used to set the V4L format (ioctl_g_ifparm) with the following code:

p->u.bt656.clock_curr = ar0330_data.mclk;

p->u.bt656.mode = V4L2_IF_TYPE_BT656_MODE_NOBT_8BIT;

p->u.bt656.clock_min = AR0330_XCLK_MIN;

p->u.bt656.clock_max = AR0330_XCLK_MAX;

p->u.bt656.bt_sync_correct = 1;  /* Indicate external vsync */

I am not really sure why the clock is used here (I have just copied OV settings) - AR0330 uses fixed clock that comes from crystal (24MHz)?

Also not sure why BT656 is used in the whole story?